Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron Logo

January 04, 2024


The 51st Australian Hobie Cat National Championships has been an event of all seasons. Day 1 had light conditions with soaring temperatures in the mid-thirties. The race committee did well to complete four races for the 45 entries, knowing full well what the rest of the week was to bring. Day 2 started slowly with a long delay on shore while we waited for the breeze to fill in. Eventually the fleet left the shore and managed three races before the end of the day.

Day 3 we woke to the beginning of the storms. The Bistro was full of sailors glued to weather apps in amongst the storm activity that slowly worked its way up the coastline. Finally, after lunch the lightning appeared to have moved north leaving a window of opportunity to go sailing, but as fate would have it, no sooner had the fleet entered the water there was a rogue lightning strike just north of Mud Island: that sealed the decision to bring everyone back to shore and pack up for the night.

The final day of Series 1 aptly fell on the 31st December, and turned out to be a long day for all. In all the excitement, the fleet rushed out to the racecourse, only to find very light shifty breeze. The Postponement flag flicked occasionally as if to tease the fleet with the promise of breeze.

Eventually the breeze kicked in and the last race was sailed in the mid-twenties with gusts over 30kts making for some great stories around the Bistro and at presentations that evening.
Special thanks goes to our fine group of Volunteers enduring some interesting conditions throughout the week.

On 2nd January, Series 2 of the Hobie Nationals commenced. This is made up of the Female and the Youth teams on the Hobie 16s. Alongside them is the smaller, but hotly contested Hobie 14 class and the Hobie Wildcat F18s. A final wrap of Series 2 will follow in next week’s edition of ITW.

Mark Dingley
Sailing Manager, RQYS

For all the results :

Related Articles

January 19, 2024
Six in a row for Mack One at Nash Advisory VX One Nationals 2024

The formidable AUS332 Mack One crew of Ben Franklin, Alan Moffat and Josh Franklin have claimed a sixth straight national title at Royal Brighton Yacht Club. They clinched the win […]