578 Royal Esplanade, Manly, Q 4179

+61 7 3396 8666


RQYouthSquad Results from 2019 Optimist Queensland Championships


Well done to Angus Wheatley who has won the 2019 Optimist Queensland Championships held at Humpybong Yacht Club on the Australian Day long weekend with 40 sailors taking part in the event.

Angus was one of many sailors from the RQYouthSquad who took out places and prizes in the event, including winners Yael O’Hagan (1st Girl), and Ethan O’Hagan and Archie Willey who were winners of the Intermediate and Green Fleets respectively.



Open Fleet

Angus Wheatley 1st Overall
David Daley 2nd
Yael O’Hagan 3rd (1st Girl)
Zane Taylor 4th (1st place Age Champion 12 and Under)
Chase Taylor 5th
Jack Saul 6th
Molly Schotte 7th
Ayesha Albery 8th
Georgina Johnstone 9th

Intermediate Fleet

Ethan O’Hagan 1st
Lucas Patrick 2nd (1st Overall Age Champion 11 and Under)
Kenneth Ngo-Ralston 3rd
Elysia Albery 4th
Zach Patrick 5th (1st Overall Age Champion 10 and Under)
Josh Dale 6th (1st Overall Age Champion 9 and Under)
Blair Dodson (Lil Bomber Sailing) 7th
James Dale 8th
Zane Bush 11th

Green Fleet

Archie Willey 1st
Monte Morse 2nd
Fletcher Morse 3rd
Matthew Janssens 4th
Chloe Barrett 5th
Jeremy Liu 7th
Rene de Baritault 11th
Sophia Barrett 12th
Jack Barrett 13th

Great work to the whole team, and well done to Coach Katy who was present at the event, and to our team of Junior and Young Adult member coaches who have worked with these sailors in their sailing upbringing!